Georgia Highlands crowned champions for first ever baseball title

Georgia Highlands crowned champions for first ever baseball title

The Chargers captured their first GCAA Baseball title defeating Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College 8 -3. 

The Stallions jumped out in front early scoring two runs in the bottom of the first to take a quick 2-0 lead. GHC answered with 2 runs of their own in the top of the second to tie the game 2-2.

Each team plated a run in the third inning to keep the scored tied 3-3. Both teams went scoreless in the fourth and fifth inning respectively.

The Chargers took the lead for good scoring three runs in the top of the sixth to increase the lead to 6-3 and added insurance runs in both the eighth and ninth innings pushing the score to 8-3 and left no doubt about the eventual outcome.

Caleb McElwaney and Grant Bodison lead the offensive production for the Chargers each going 3-4. While tournament MVP Matt Vaccaro was 2-4.  Vaccaro and McElwaney each had an RBI. Bodison scored two runs. Leadoff hitter Bronco O'Brien scored two runs as well while adding an RBI on the day. 

After a shaky first inning in which he gave up two homeruns, Colby Taylor settled in and pitched a complete game striking out ten ABAC batters, while walking just one and surrendered five hits total. 

ABAC was lead by Justin Russell. Russell had two of the Stallions 5 hits that included a homerun and two RBI's. 

After a opening round bye for securing the tournament second seed, the Chargers cruised through the tournament with a 8-0 run rule win over Andrew College on day two. Georgia Highlands College then defeated South Georgia State in the winners bracket with a 9-3 win on day three to move to the championship game. 

The championship win against the Stallions gives the #1 seed for the Chargers team in district play. The Chargers will travel to play in the East Central District Championship this week with the Bobcats from East Georgia State College getting the #2 seed from Georgia as a result of winning the regular season. Dyersburg State and Columbia State are the #1 and #2 seeds respectively from Tennessee, this years district host.