Oxford Emory Men's Tennis Continue National Title Streak

Oxford Emory Men's Tennis Continue National Title Streak

Peachtree City, GA – Oxford Emory (GA) proved victorious once again as the Eagles captured the 2018 NJCAA DIII Men's Tennis National Championship to claim their fourth consecutive title. The Eagles were dominant throughout, winning all nine flights and not losing even a single set in tournament play.

Sophomore Guillermo Cabral won the No. 1 Singles Flight for the second consecutive year.

Coach Pernilla Hardin, who received the Max Grubbs Coach of the Tournament Award, leads the Oxford team. Anna Hardin serves as the team's assistant coach during the regular season, with Ina Jones as an assistant coach at nationals. 

2018 team members include: Guillermo Cabral, San Juan Puerto Rico; Nicolas Hasty, Houston, Texas; Gordon Hue, Shanghai, China; Henry Hua, Shanghai, China, A.J.Sonawala, Singapore; Tate Coston, Kennesaw, Ga.; David George, Plano, Texas; Julian McCarthy, Bronxville, N.Y. and Andrew Sun, Taipei, Taiwan. 

Oxford Emory finished the team standings with 36 points with Rowan-Gloucester a distant second at 22 points. The 2018 championship is the seventh overall for the Eagles, the most in NJCAA DIII history. The four-straight championships for Oxford Emory are tied for the longest stretch in DIII history, joining Rowan-Gloucester (2010-13).