Oxford Emory's Men Capture Record 5th Straight National Championship

Oxford Emory's Men Capture Record 5th Straight National Championship

 Peachtree City, GA –  There is a quote that goes "Success is no accident. It is hard work, perseverance, learning, studying, sacrifice and most of all, love of what you are doing or learning to do."

For the Oxford Emory Eagles winning their fifth straight national championship is a result of all that. And with their fifth straight title broke the previous DIII record of four consecutive titles set by Rowan-Gloucester.

Heading into the final day of competition, the Eagles had earned spots in all of the championship matches and had a 3-point lead over Onondaga Community College who finished second. 

Needing only 4 points to claim the championship, the Eagles were able to win two points in doubles play. Sophomore David George and freshman Orest Los won the Eagle's first match of the day winning third doubles, 6-2, 6-1. 

In second doubles, sophomore captain Julian McCarthy and freshman Kevin Yan earned the Eagles' second win with a 6-3, 6-3 victory. 

In singles play, freshman John Funda won sixth singles easily defeating his opponent 6-1, 6-1. Needing only one point to secure the national championship, Yan won fourth singles 6-4, 6-0 securing the Eagles eight overall national championship. In fifth singles, Los defeated his opponent 6-2, 7-5. McCarthy rounded out the day for the Eagles winning first singles 7-5, 6-3, which included an incredible comeback victory in the first set. 

"I am extremely proud of how the boys competed all tournament," stated Head Coach Pernilla Hardin, who was named Coach of the Tournament. "Onandaga was a tough team and they had some good players, but our boys fought hard and competed well. Kavin (Jain) and Tate (Coston) both competed well in first doubles and in their singles matches against tough opponents."

This marks the ninth overall championship (men's and women's) that Coach Hardin has won in the past five years. Earlier this year, the women's tennis team won their 4th-consecutive national championship.